A Letter from My Dad

Storm On The Horizon
This is an article published previously, but I wanted to re-publish it today in honor of Father’s Day. Never underestimate the power of a father in the life of a child. Happy Father’s Day, and God bless!

Two years ago today, my dad passed away from complications associated with congestive heart failure. His birthday was on March 4 (he used to joke that it was the only date that was also a command), and on March 10, 2015, while cleaning out some of his things, his second wife came across a letter he had hand-written to us before he passed. It seemed like he had written it in the weeks leading up to his death, which was odd to us because he had been in pretty bad health (he had always done pencil sketches from before I can even remember – he had even been commissioned a year or so before his death by someone he knew to draw the cover of a book, but couldn’t finish it because of his health). She passed the letter on to my little brother, who took a picture of the pages with his phone (to show us, in case there was any doubt, that it was in Daddy’s handwriting) and sent it out to the rest of us.

When I returned to the US after my tour in Germany in January, 2012, my dad was in the hospital and it didn’t look like he would make it out. I spent many nights in the hospital room with him, talking about many different things – from what he wanted done with his body to things from his past. He told me that he had found God after all this time, and we talked about that, as it was also in the time-frame that I was also returning to the Lord.

On this anniversary of his passing, I wanted to re-post the letter he wrote to us for the message that is contained within it (I have previously posted it on my Tumblr account). It is posted exactly how he wrote it, with the exception that I removed my dad’s second wife’s name out of respect. I have also emphasized the portions that I feel like should be read and contain the message.

God bless you all!


 

I would, if given a choice, live long enough to make sure that all of my kids, grandkids, and (second wife’s name) and everyone in my family, and all my friends would not have to go through any pain or heartache over my death. The choice is not mine to make and I do not fear death for I know that all things are eternal. I just wish I could be here for all who need me or will miss me. I do know we will all be united again as I have been given proof.

I don’t want any of you to think I deserted you. And I will be waiting for ya’ll and know it might seem like a long time off but really life is so brief. I want ya’ll to make me proud by going on with your lives and enjoying the experience of physical life.

I am writing this because I feel things happening in my body and I know that the best doctors in the world cannot fix. My mind tells my I don’t have long and I am prepared as anyone can be. I have had a good life, and my family and friends are responsible for that. Ya’ll are the greatest blessing I’ve known.

Just remember that energy cannot be destroyed and energy and mass are exactly the same thing. Scientists will figure that out some day. Right now so many smart people just don’t take the effort to look at all the accumulated knowledge and see they all have some of it right. Man, animals, plants, rocks, metal, water, air, gas and all the things that make the universe are all part of the same thing. We will exist in many forms and have always existed in other forms. We are connected now, we were connected in the past,  and will be connected in the future. None of ya’ll would believe the things I have recently been shown but you also will be shown when your time comes.

This life here should not be squandered as there are so many things to be learned and its very important to learn everything you can and teach the people who will listen. I love each and every one of ya’ll and I will keep your memory safe in my heart and mind. So til we meet again, I say goodbye and please continue to make me proud.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Thanks for sharing your heart with this brother! My love and prayers are with you and your family.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, brother! Last night was a bit difficult for me, but I am feeling better today. As I told Jon last night via email, I still can’t read those words without hearing his voice or choking up. It is quite the “coincidence”, in my opinion, that the letter was found the week after his birthday in his things. When they packed his stuff up from his home, we didn’t go through it (he lived in a small retirement community with his own house and his caregiver was a close family friend, who he took in as a teenager) because everything was just too fresh. I still find it amazing that despite the fact that he had given up his drawing and when he signed paperwork he just scribbled on it due to his health, he was able to write this. I fully believe he had a revelation experience and that gave him the strength he needed. I miss him tremendously, but I know now that he is in a better place, with no pain and continues to help me in my own journey.

      God bless you and your family! As someone that has experienced both of my parents passing away, I urge everyone that reads this to give your parents a call and spend some time talking to them. Talk with your grandparents if you still have the chance… I look forward to meeting up with all of mine on the other side and catching up. 🙂

      Like

  2. Thank you for posting brother. A very good reminder that life is brief. Make it count for the Kingdom.

    God bless you and yours!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

